top of page
Search

The KWL Chart...

Welcome! This blog is tardy, due to awaiting completion of the writing workshop last Saturday! My first; on Zoom! I was so excited and a bit nervous as the workshop was live from Galway, Ireland. It was easy to open and navigate! 90 participants in the class!


As a former K teacher, whenever I introduced a new subject, I took a survey using the KWL chart. I set it up as a three columned chart, labeling each section accordingly. As I started the conversation, I asked the students these questions:


a) What do you KNOW about the subject?

b) What do you WANT to know about the subject?

The third would be filled out after the lesson. Its content: what I have LEARNED.


After the workshop, I found it helpful to apply this chart and reflect on the learnings.

First, in the K section, I am quite knowledgeable with writing. I love to write notes, journal, read and pay attention to the logistics of writing; spelling, punctuation, sentence structure,

thesis statements, etc. Especially in graduate school, all these applied.The school of theology and ministry opened many doors to write, reflect and use critical thinking skills.


Moving on to the second column, I was still thirsty to learn and grow. Always evolving and becoming are mantras in my spiritual journey, so below a few ideas I wanted to know about spiritual writing:

1) Writing prompts.

2) Creativity in writing.

3) Creating a sacred space to write.

4) Lectio Devina: scripture

5) Poetry writing.


The three hour workshop answered all my questions and then some. Writing prompts are as rigid or creative as you want them to be. Free writes are good practice and just keep you on task! Be sure to always have pen and paper on hand so you can write down an idea or vision for a later piece. Another fun, creative writing exercise was an acrostic.The template was a word uncovered in a poem Christine read three times. Vertically writing the word, and after each letter adding other words beginning with that letter.


A sacred space could be a cozy nook or corner, an office space or dining room table. As quiet or not as the writer in you needs. Lighting a candle, playing soft music, can be conducive to writing. Lectio Devina I had always been interested in, through had never tried it. In this workshop Christine did just that, and it was wonderful. It sparked the " close reading" exercises in school. Digging deep into the scripture, uncovering gems on the underbelly.


Poetry is one genre I haven't tried, In this workshop Christine read a Mary Oliver poem and another by David Whyte. I am familiar with both poets. I hope someday to try my hand at poetry.


In closing, Christine brought to the table a warmness, welcoming spirit, a comfortableness,

a thirst, a yearning, was approachable, fun, organized and creative. I welcome you to treat yourself to a workshop! The Priory Spirituality Center: http://www.stplacid.org. has several programs sure to treat your palette. Until next time, stay safe and healthy.


In Christ,

Kitt



14 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GRIEF, GRACE AND GRATITUDE...

Hello followers and new subscribers! Welcome! Today feels like a fall day, a good time to sit down and reflect on life, it's lessons and...

SPRING HAS SPRUNG...

Welcome followers and new readers! Happy belated Easter! My last entry was near 6 weeks ago, so please bear with me as I begin again! Who...

2 Comments


Kitt Mathisen
Kitt Mathisen
Sep 10, 2020

Thank you Tiffany! I appreciate your support in my ministry:) ❤️

Like

tiffy4u
Sep 10, 2020

I love your KWL system. I will utilize this next time I learn a new subject. It sounds like you had a wonderful workshop with valuable knowledge to apply to your own practice. Thank you for sharing! - Tiffy

Like
bottom of page