top of page
Search

Stepping Stones: What spiritual genre speaks to you?

Welcome to my blog! Thank you to those who checked out my new website and first blog! For newcomers and spiritual seekers, please enjoy this second post. I am excited to introduce my book gathering.


We will celebrate five years running in December! I am so grateful to my committed participants, and always welcome new readers! As a spiritual director, I often recommend

texts applicable to directees' journeys. Whether it be transition, loss, prayer, or daily devotions. In fact, it was a directee's recommendation to start a book gathering, and we have met ever since! God is good!


It has been a fruitful journey of reading and discussion in the atmosphere of faith and fellowship! A typical gathering includes lighting a candle to invite the Holy Spirit into our dialogue, check in time, discussion of book, break, continued sharing, intentions, and closing. I'd like to be more proactive in intentions and perhaps group spiritual direction.

In most gatherings, we meet for ninety minutes.


We have enjoyed many books over the years! Here are a few beloved authors: Richard Rohr, Anne Lamott, Sister Joan Chisster, James Martin SJ, Anne M.Lindbergh, Mary Oliver, Sister Helen Prejean, Lisa Miller, Jennifer Worth, and Atul Gawande.


In order to read a range of spiritual texts, I also invite our participants to choose. In this vein, we are challenged and stretched to seek out new genres. Which in turn, fosters fruitful sharing and learning. In naming my book gathering Stepping Stones, I chose this quote from Mother Teresa: " I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples." Therefore, when we gather in spirit and community, we seek new ideas as believers and seekers. Forging new paths to understanding, respectfully recognizing differences and broadening our horizons.


Prayerfully consider joining us! Just check out this website and submit your info. I will respond in a timely manner. I look forward to hearing from you!

In Christ,

Kitt


Where to purchase books:


Eagle Harbor Books. I am currently re-instating my placard, so please be patient. Upon purchase, please state the book is for Stepping Stones. This will insure a %15 discount.


Bainbridge Island/Kitsap Regional Library: Please allow time for holds and audio books.


Amazon Kindle: A quick approach to downloading books. Prices vary.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GRIEF, GRACE AND GRATITUDE...

Hello followers and new subscribers! Welcome! Today feels like a fall day, a good time to sit down and reflect on life, it's lessons and...

SPRING HAS SPRUNG...

Welcome followers and new readers! Happy belated Easter! My last entry was near 6 weeks ago, so please bear with me as I begin again! Who...

Comments


bottom of page