top of page
Search

Advent, Already?

Welcome to my followers and new subscribers! Wow! Where did Autumn and Halloween go? Thanksgiving as well...so much to be thankful for...


And here I am so tardy again in keeping up this blog! Let's keep a New Year's Resolution to keep on track!


I love Advent. It's a "time of waiting". Today even more perfect, with our first dusting of snow! I've never minded the PNW rain, however, a light snowfall from inside a cozy nook suits me. God's paintbrush in Autumn, replaced by His creation in snowflakes. Stated in The Gospel Way's Snow: Bible Lessons from Snowflakes, "snow is evidence of God's creation. Like snowflakes, each person is unique and can be beautiful by God's power."


In our home, I love placing advent candles and votives on my kitchen sill and dining room table. The four candles/ votives in purple and pink represent the four weeks of advent. The three purple candles represent a time of sacrifice, prayer and penance. Purple is a liturgical color as well.


The Advent calendar is timeless in our home! Lovingly sewn by a special friend, it was a gift to our daughter Becky when she was just three! Now with a grandson and expecting a second in Spring, we will enjoy little hands once again pinning the assorted decorations on the felt tree! God is good;)


Whatever Advent represents on your faith journey, let us be reminded of the little things! Waiting can be difficult, however, let's savor the special, quiet days. Reflect, pick up a new scripture or book to meditate on. A favorite: Exploring Advent with Luke by Timothy Clayton was a gift from Pastor Lori, my late spiritual director and kindred spirit. Each year as I read, I

learn a new message.


In closing, I am very thankful for you! As the New Year approaches, I will continue my three ministries. There will be some changes, so please look for these on my website!


Advent Blessings!

Kitt

10 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

GRIEF, GRACE AND GRATITUDE...

Hello followers and new subscribers! Welcome! Today feels like a fall day, a good time to sit down and reflect on life, it's lessons and...

SPRING HAS SPRUNG...

Welcome followers and new readers! Happy belated Easter! My last entry was near 6 weeks ago, so please bear with me as I begin again! Who...

1 Comment


caseychanchan
Nov 30, 2022

Happy Aevent sister ❤️

Like
bottom of page